File Size103.95 KB
Create DateAugust 24, 2017


WHEREAS unlike some candidates who may reject abortion for themselves but do not seek to force this personal decision on others, anti-choice candidates support rules, regulations and laws that would impose additional constraints on access to abortion and ultimately would make abortion illegal everywhere; and

WHEREAS the chair of the DCCC (Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee), Rep. Ben Ray Luján (D-NM) — in defense of DCCC support of mayoral candidate Heath Mello, who has sponsored anti-choice legislation in the Nebraska legislature — asserted in April 2017 that Democrats will not withhold support from anti-choice candidates; and

WHEREAS the 2016 platform adopted by the Democratic National Convention states:

Guaranteeing Women’s Rights

. . . .we will urge U.S. ratification of the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women [CEDAW ];


WHEREAS the relevant CEDAW articles are:


  1. States Parties shall take all appropriate measures to eliminate discrimination against women in the field of health care in order to ensure, on a basis of equality of men and women, access to health care services, including those related to family planning.


  1. States Parties shall take all appropriate measures to eliminate discrimination against women in all matters relating to marriage and family relations and in particular shall ensure, on a basis of equality of men and women:

 (e) The same rights to decide freely and responsibly on the number and spacing of their children and to have access to the information, education and means to enable them to exercise these rights;


WHEREAS the 2016 platform adopted by the Convention of the WSD (Washington State Democrats) states:

  1. Civil and Human Rights

We believe:  Each person has the right to sovereignty over their own body

We call for: The right of all women to be free of government, corporate, or religious  interference in their reproductive decisions, including contraception and  abortion, and to have safe, legal, protected, affordable and accessible health care that enables them to make informed choices;


WHEREAS WSD Chair Tina Podlodowski responded to the DCCC stance:

There is a lot of outrage about the leader of the DCCC making comments about backing anti-choice candidates for congress. . . . .let’s just say that’s NOT the Washington State Democrats way and we will not be supporting that decision here [for] our congressional candidates;


WHEREAS abortion rights are highly relevant to all of a woman’s life — education, employment, health, life or death — not a “single issue” that even some well-known progressive male leaders arrogantly dismiss as insufficiently important to be one of the criteria by which to judge a candidate, ignoring the needs of millions of women; now

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the WSDCC (Washington State Democratic Central Committee) unequivocally dissociates itself from the anti-choice electoral position expressed in April 2017 by Ben Ray Luján, Chair of the DCCC (Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee), which does not represent the Democratic Party and is contrary to the long-established pro-choice policy of the Democratic National Committee (DNC); and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that we call upon the DCCC to publicly reject the anti-choice policy stated by Luján and instead adopt the policy of the DNC; until this is done we advise all who are pro-choice not to contribute to the DCCC; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that we thank the Chair of the DNC, Tom Perez, for his response to the DCCC: ““Every Democrat, like every American, should support a woman’s right to make her own choices about her body and her health. That is not negotiable and should not change city by city or state by state. . . . .At a time when women’s rights are under assault from the White House, the Republican Congress, and in states across the country, we must speak up for this principle as loudly as ever and with one voice.”; and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED  that upon adoption this resolution be sent to the DCCC; U.S Senators Chuck Schumer, Patty Murray, Maria Cantwell; U.S. Representatives Nancy Pelosi, Suzan DelBene, Rick Larsen, Derek Kilmer,  Pramila Jayapal, Adam Smith, Denny Heck; The Seattle Times, The New York Times

Adopted by the 32nd Legislative District Democratic Organization at its August 9th, 2017