32nd LD Meeting Minutes July 9, 2017

File Size214.21 KB
Create DateAugust 25, 2017

32nd Legislative District Democratic Organization

Minutes of “Summer Picnic” Meeting held July 9, 2017,

at Lynndale Park, Picnic Shelter #1


Pursuant to advance notice originated by District Chair Carin Chase (who was out-of-town on this date), the meeting was called to order at 12:40 p.m. by First Vice-Chair Alan Charnley, who began by initiating a general “Thank-You” to the LD volunteers who’d prepared the more-than-ample food.


Ballot Issue et al.


Ted Hikel explained Lynnwood’s proposed “Regional Fire Authority (RFA)” bond issue, before voters in that city and certain other areas surrounding it.  It was M/S that we recommend a “No” vote on the measure.  After discussion, the motion was carried by a seemingly unanimous vote.


Dakota Solberg announced that sample ballots for the Kingco and Snoco halves of our LD had been printed and were now ready, at a back table, for pickup by PCOs for distribution in their precincts. 


It was announced that HJR 48, reflecting much of the anti-Citizens United reform embodied in Washington’s Initiative 735, had been introduced in the U.S. House of Representatives, but that Rep. Rick Larsen (of WA’s CD-2) has yet to take a clear position on it.


Other Business


Gray Petersen was introduced as a candidate to be Acting PCO for Lynnwood precinct 18.  He spoke, and it was M/S/C to approve his application.


The following candidates were then given an opportunity to speak for up to one minute each, subject to Dan Jacoby as timekeeper.  They spoke in approximately this order:


For Lynnwood City Council (or Mayor where noted):

Ian Cotton

Van AuBuchon

Ben Corey

Rosamaria Graziani

George Hurst (Mayor)


For Edmonds City Council (or School Board where noted):

Josh Thompson

Deborah Kilgore (School Board)

Cathy Baylor (School Board)

Adrienne Fraley-Monillas


For Shoreline City Council:

               Bergith Kayyali

               Carolyn Ahlgreen

               Jin-Ah Kim


For other offices:

               Stan Lippman (for King County Executive)

               Pat Murakami (for Seattle City Council, Position 9)

               Hisam Goueli (for Seattle City Council, Position 8)


Following remarks by Senator Chase about the extended Legislative session (now in its closing days), including budgetary flaws, the status of a Chase-Hasegawa single-payer health-care bill (identical to California’s) that is en route to becoming an Initiative to the People, and the inadequacy of legislative compensation when a session runs significantly overtime (as this one already has), it was M/S/C to adjourn the meeting – at 1:35 pm.


Prepared and submitted by Dean Fournier, LD Secretary