DAPL Public Comment Now Open – until Feb 20

Now until Feb. 20 is the public’s chance to push for a full review of the pipeline’s climate impacts. Here’s what to do.

Update 01/27/2017: An email on Thursday from Timothy Vail, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Military Assistant to the Assistant Secretary of the Army (Civil Works), said public input is being accepted: “I assure you, Mr. Owen continues to accept comments at the present time.”

It’s been a tumultuous few days for anyone following the ongoing battle against the Dakota Access pipeline. Within the course of just over a week, the project’s backers tried to get a judge to cancel environmental review of the project, environmental review officially began, and, on Jan. 24, President Trump issued a memorandum calling for the Army Corps of Engineers to ditch the Environmental Impact Statement process and approve the pipeline.

Things look bleak, but it’s unclear whether Trump’s order will actually have any effect.   Read More…

http://www.yesmagazine.org/people-power/dont-let-trump-distract-you-public-comment-on-dapl-is-now-open-20170125

February 8, 2017 32nd Monthly Meeting

Coming up:   February 8th, 2017 Wednesday

Special Guest Nick Licata
Special Guest Nick Licata

Breaking News!! See the message below – we are humbled and honored to accept the dinner invitation!

Feb 8th, 2017 32nd District Democrats Meeting
6pm – Dinner curtesy of our Latino Community partners
6:30- Open Mic – welcome to organizing groups
7PM – Becoming and Citizen Activist with Nick Licata
________________
Dear friends,
The Latino community would like to attend the first part of your meeting to personally thank the Democrats during these trying times.
We would like to donate a full hot Latin American dinner for 120-150 people.
All the donations will go to the 32nd and we may collect more money this way than with raffles.
This is how Cesar Chavez funded his movement
We can start serving dinner at 6:00.
I would also like 5 mins to address the collective.
If this works, we can do it every month. It is a good fundraiser and great for getting to know us better.
Warmest regards,
Rosamaria GrazianiComing up: February 8th, 2017 Wednesday

Special Guest Nick Licata – Becoming a Citizen Activist

Join us in welcoming former Seattle city councilmember Nick Licata when he comes to talk about his book Becoming a Citizen Activist: Stories, Strategies, and Advice for Changing Our World.
Licata, one of Seattle’s most effective leaders of political and social change since the 1960s, has written a smart and powerful book, explaining how to get organized, congregate power, and master the tactics for change. Licata s observations on the intricacies of power will not only educate activist who wants to make a difference in today’s world, but will empower them through insightful tools such as effective communication methods.
Now is the time to make a difference.

2017 Legislative Agenda
A discussion and update on 2017 with our 32nd Legislative Action Committee – learn where to put your new skills on how to lobby in Olympia to work!

Carin Chase
Chair
www.32democrats.org Join us in welcoming former Seattle city council member Nick Licata when he comes to talk about his book Becoming a Citizen Activist: Stories, Strategies, and Advice for Changing Our World.

Continue reading February 8, 2017 32nd Monthly Meeting

32LD at the Women’s March in Seattle, January 21

women's march on washington state

The Seattle Women’s March begins on Saturday January 21 with a 10 am rally at Judkins Park that is followed by a 3.6-mile march to the Seattle Center. National media have focused on the rally in Washington, DC, but there are more than 600 “sister events” around country and the world.

If you’d like to march with the 32nd Dems, we’ll be near the Earth banner in Judkins Park by 10 am. Look for the 32LD Banner. Plan to arrive early; organizers expect 50,000 people based upon online RSVPs.

Keep up with LD32 on Saturday on our Facebook page.

Continue reading 32LD at the Women’s March in Seattle, January 21

January 11, 2017 32nd Monthly Meeting

32nd Legislative District Democratic Organization

Monthly Meeting

Wednesday, January 11th, 2017

6:30PM Sign-in, Set-up, Socialize
6:40PM Step-Up*   
7:00PM Meeting

Masonic Hall Shoreline, 753 N 185th St, Shoreline
Directions (GoogleMaps)

*We are following the 44th LD’s new tradition of “open mic” time from 6:40-6:55PM  called “Step-Up”.  Member opportunity to step-up to the microphone and take three (3) minutes to share.

Agenda Items include Shoreline School District Levy information, 2017 Calendar, committee reports and updates, and ratification of one committee chair position. Endorsements may be considered.

32nd Legislative District Democratic Organization
Monthly Meeting 
Wednesday January 11th, 2017
Masonic Hall Shoreline, 753 N 185th St, Shoreline
 
AGENDA
   
6:30 PM  Socialize and Set-up
6:45:PM  NEW –  open mic  – 3minutes!
7:00 PM  Meeting Called to Order
                Pledge
                Agenda and Dec 14, 2016 Minutes Approval                                               
 
7:05 PM   How to Lobby in Olympia – 2017
 
8:10 PM  Break – Raffle!!
  
8:25 PM  32nd Business Meeting
               Committee Reports 
                        
8:00 PM  Unfinished Business
                New Business –
                   2017 Meeting Location or Day Change Consideration 
                 Good of the Order
 
9:15 PM  Adjourn 
                Chairs and Tables put away 

2017-18 32nd Legislative District Democratic Organization Executive Board 12.14.16

Congratulations to the newly elected board of the 32nd Legislative District Democratic Organization. I am deeply honored to be chosen as the continuing chair and thrilled and excited by the wealth of experience, talent and passion reflected in our new board!

Presenting the 2017-18
32nd District Democrats Executive Board and Committee Chairs elected 12.14.16

Continue reading 2017-18 32nd Legislative District Democratic Organization Executive Board 12.14.16

December 14, 2016 Reorganization Meeting and Winter Festivus

 er_3046_inclusive-leader_banner-1

32nd Legislative District Democratic Organization
Reorganization Meeting Wednesday, December 14th, 2016
6:30 PM Sign-in*,  7:00PM Meeting
Masonic Hall Shoreline, 753 N 185th St, Shoreline

*Festivus Happy Hour 6:30 – 7PM
Dessert, Pizza, Drinks, Raffle and silent auction/raffle
Reorganization Meeting 7PM – 8PM
Winter Party and Festivus 8PM – 10PM

*You are encouraged to bring a dessert to share and
White Donkey gift for the raffle!

Continue reading December 14, 2016 Reorganization Meeting and Winter Festivus

32nd PCO Information Page 2017-18

32nd District PCO Coordinator –  Carol McMahon carol.mcmahon@32democrats.org

Area Specific Coordinators

Edmonds, Woodway, Mountlake Terrace, Unincorporated –

Marilyn Dauer marilyn.dauer@32democrats.org

Lynnwood-

Carol McMahon carol.mcmahon@32democrats.org;

MD Eckart m.eckart@32democrats.org;

Deb Viertel deb.viertel@32democrats.org

Shoreline –

Nicole Richey nicole.richey@32democrats.org;

Lorn Richey lorn.richey@32democrats.org

Seattle –

Sally Soriano  Sally.Soriano@32democrats.org


Precinct Committee Officers (PCO) are the lifeblood of the grassroots efforts of the Washington State Democrats. PCOs engage and organize their neighbors, they get out the vote to elect and keep good Democrats in office, and they vital to the efficient running of the Legislative District Democratic Organizations.

If you are unsure which precinct you are in you can use the precinct finder tools for King and Snohomish Counties and check the 32nd PCO list below.

King County – Find my District

Snohomish County – Interactive Precinct and District Map

A PCO may also be appointed as an PCO to fill out a two-year term if the position is vacant.

King County PCO Application

Snohomish County PCO Application

2017-18  KING COUNTY  and SNOHOMISH COUNTY PCO’s Elected, Appointed and Acting  

Precinct   Last Name First Name Email
Aldercrest Acting PCO Sweet Meghan meghansweet@hotmail.com
Ann   Harris Stephanie c3beta@msn.com
Ashford        
Chapel   Jess Janette jjess3355@gmail.com
Cypress   Ali Shahrum shahrumali@hotmail.com
Edmonds 06   Tolliver Steven steventolliver@yahoo.com
Edmonds 12   McGuire Barbara babmcguire@comcast.net
Edmonds 14 Acting PCO Dauer Marilyn marilyndauer@yahoo.com
Edmonds 15   Dunsmoor Katherine kduns13@gmail.com
Edmonds 16        
Edmonds 18   Thompson Joshua ponchandjohn@hotmail.com
Edmonds 19   Fraley Monillas Adrienne monilad@aol.com
Edmonds 25   Harrison William wm.r.harrison@gmail.com
Edmonds 26   Palmer Andrew andewwebbpalmer@gmail.com
Edmonds 27 Acting PCO Lamey Don donaldlamey@gmail.com
Edmonds 40   Jurewicz Tom tomjtoon@comcast.net
Edmonds 41   Brown Elizabethe lized01@comcast.net
Edmonds 42   Williams Mary mary.pamela.williams@gmail.com
Edmonds 43   Wellington Evelyn evewell@msn.com
Edmonds 45   Schafer Patrice xtrafingers@msn.com
Edmonds 47        
Edmonds 48        
Edmonds 49   Ludgate Theodore tludgate@comcast.net
Edmonds 50   Madsen Catherine cathymadson@gmail.com
Edmonds 52   Miklasiewicz Thea thea_mik@yahoo.com
Hilltop   Lee Carrie  lovecarrielee@gmail.com
Holly   Chase Carin carin.chase@32democrats.org
Larch   Fulton Doris fultondl@gmail.com
Laura   Todd  Bonnie bsandahl@wolfenet.com
Lynnwood 01 Acting PCO Gill Kathy kegill@gmail.com
Lynnwood 02   James Robert rhj4315@live.com
Lynnwood 03   Kresek Ken kpkresek@hotmail.com
Lynnwood 04        
Lynnwood 05        
Lynnwood 06   Arendt Mike arendt1@gmail.com
Lynnwood 07   McMahon Carol 54.cmac@gmail.com
Lynnwood 08        
Lynnwood 09   Wright Stephanie froggymail@aol.com
Lynnwood 10   Gough JoAnn jgough626@aol.com
Lynnwood 11   Corey Ben benjamin.c.corey@gmail.com
Lynnwood 12   Landon James P ljimandpat@aol.com
Lynnwood 13   Eckart Michael Eckartm@frontier.com
Lynnwood 14 Acting
PCO
Graziani Rosamaria  rosamaria.graziani@32democrats.org
Lynnwood 15   Petersen Robert robert.petersen@32democrats.org
Lynnwood 16   Utter Lisa lisautter@hotmail.com
Lynnwood 17   Kilgore Deborah deborah.kilgore@gmail.com
Lynnwood 18 Acting PCO Petersen Gray gray.petersen@32democrats.org
Lynnwood 20   Ross Randy rross1144@gmail.com
Lynnwood 21        
Lynnwood 22   Read Dustin read6430@gmail.com
Lynnwood 23   Viertel Deborah debviertel@yahoo.com
Lynnwood 24   Parshall David davidparsh@hotmail.com
Lynnwood 25   Jared Robert rwjared@hotmail.com
Lynnwood 26   Palmer Warren janet.palmer.85@comcast.net
Lynnwood 28   Hikel Theodore councilmantedhikel@hotmail.com
Lynnwood 29   Cheuvront Sandra sandi92043@yahoo.com
Lynnwood 30

 

Baylor Cathy  cathy.baylor@32democrats.org
Lynnwood 31   Patrick Denice denicepatrick@comcast.net
Lynnwood 32        
Lynnwood 33        
MAGNOLIA   Willoretta Stanley stan.willoretta@gmail.com
Mtlk Ter 07   Marsing Tiffani Jordan tiffani.marsing@gmail.com
Mtlk Ter 08        
MtLkTerr 09        
MtLkTerr 10   Valpey Eric ejvalpey@hotmail.com
NILE        
NRV MTLK TERR WELL SITE        
PACIFIC   Lazerte Adam alazerte@gmail.com
RIDGEVIEW   Nelson James nelson.roger@hotmail.com
ROB   Mason Garrett garrett.g.mason@gmail.com
SEA 32-2200   Solberg Dakota dakota.solberg@gmail.com
SEA 32-2201   Williams-Derry Paul Clark clarkwd@gmail.com
SEA 32-2202   Kline Julie kliner_2000@yahoo.Com
SEA 32-2203   Lange Kathleen tatter59@me.com
SEA 32-2204   Bright Sarah swfbright@gmail.com
SEA 32-2206   Ripp Lanna maryleilannei@gmail.com
SEA 32-2208   Jackson Martha m145@zipcon.com
SEA 32-2209   Simmons Justin justin@justinsimmons.com
SEA 32-2210   Allman Michele machelleannjanette@hotmail.com
SEA 32-2211   Caldwell Elizabeth ejs@uw.edu
SEA 32-2215   Freedheim Amy 1amymother@comcast.net
SEA 32-2216   Soriano Sally sally@sallysoriano.org
SEA 32-2217   Lewis Charles charleslewis@hotmail.com
SEA 32-2218        
SEA 32-2224   Blevins Wendy wendy.blevins@gmail.com
SEA 32-2537   Evenstar Marcus marcus.evenstar@gmail.com
SEA 32-2539   Fournier Dean demdean48@gmail.com
SEA 32-3568   McCoy Patricia patamccoy@gmail.com
SEA 32-3656   Kestin-Landberg Kiraya landberg3@msn.com
SHL 32-0001   Murata Corey cimurata@gmail.com
SHL 32-0012        
SHL 32-0024   Tenney Krista tenney@earthlink.net
SHL 32-0038        
SHL 32-0088        
SHL 32-0232   Scully Keith keith@newmanlaw.org
SHL 32-0241   Irwin Wesley wesleydirwin@gmail.com
SHL 32-0267   Roberts Christopher chris.roberts@32democrats.org
SHL 32-0274        
SHL 32-0277   Steward Callie calliel_@hotmail.com
SHL 32-0296   Kim Jin-Ah gnuhkym@gmail.com
SHL 32-0319        
SHL 32-0335        
SHL 32-0346 Acting PCO Richey Nicole nikita7282@msn.com
SHL 32-0357   Cafferty Jessica jtcafferty@gmail.com
SHL 32-0368        
SHL 32-0378   Lietz Amy amybunnylietz@gmail.com
SHL 32-0401 Acting PCO Phelps Elaine efphelps@earthlink.net
SHL 32-0407   Sandys Jeff jpsandys@yahoo.com
SHL 32-0423   Way Janet janetway@yahoo.com
SHL 32-0424   King-Hedinger Aurora aurorakhedinger@hotmail.com
SHL 32-0444        
SHL 32-0454   Lopez Don donlopez81@gmail.com
SHL 32-0462   Clarke Catherine catherineca@comcast.net
SHL 32-0470        
SHL 32-0474   Bender Abram wa.dems@abe.bender.net
SHL 32-0486   Corando Humberto clanc@rocketmail.com
SHL 32-0488        
SHL 32-0494   Aselas Erin erinaselas@gmail.com
SHL 32-0499        
SHL 32-0510   Willson Shasta shastaw@gmail.com
SHL 32-0514        
SHL 32-0519   Amundson Julie jula2@comcast.net
SHL 32-0527   Brunson Michael  
SHL 32-0530   Liaw Shoubee shoubeeliaw@hotmail.com
SHL 32-0537        
SHL 32-0538   Angelis Stephanie Ann stephaniea.angelis@gmail.com
SHL 32-0558   Jacoby Daniel dan@danjacoby.com
SHL 32-0559        
SHL 32-0605        
SHL 32-0606   Crow David cromag9@gmail.com
SHL 32-0609        
SHL 32-0648   Henry Angela angelachenry@hotmail.com
SHL 32-0665   Weber Patricia pweber27@centurylink.net
SHL 32-0692   Wynne Maryn marynw@aol.com
SHL 32-0711   Smith Lila   lila_itf@hotmail.com
SHL 32-0735   Kowalski Sophia sophiakowalski@outlook.com
SHL 32-0754        
SHL 32-0802   Holt Julie jooligee@gmail.com
SHL 32-0819   McCoy John john.mccoy@outlook.com
SHL 32-0832   Nash Cynthia cjnash@mac.com
SHL 32-0844   Leslie Ronald ronleslie@comcast.net
SHL 32-0861   Shope Josh  josh.shope@gmail.com
SHL 32-0866   Hettrick Diane dhettrick@earthlink.net
SHL 32-0875   Brown Bettelinn bettelinn@hotmail.com
SHL 32-0888   Laffoon Rose rmlaffoon@comcast.net
SHL 32-0895   Salomon Jesse jsalomon10@hotmail.com
SHL 32-0897   Norton Maren mrnorton@stanfordalumni.org
SHL 32-0898   Ryu Cindy friendsforcindyryu@yahoo.com
SHL 32-0903   Ahlgreen Carolyn harridaughta@yahoo.com
SHL 32-0914   McConnell Doris dorismccon@comcast.net
SHL 32-0917        
SHL 32-0920        
SHL 32-0921   Hauge Winona whollinshauge@yahoo.com
SHL 32-1020   Ritoch Tami tamiritoch@gmail.com
SHL 32-1021        
SHL 32-1030   Bachety Michael mbachety@gmail.com
SHL 32-1038        
SHL 32-1053   Charnley Alan silver.arrow12@gmail.com
SHL 32-1077   Baltuth Raphael raphael@baltuth.com
SHL 32-1080        
SHL 32-1101   Krodel Jacob krodel.jacob@gmail.com
SHL 32-1106   Richey Lorn lornrichey@hotmail.com
SHL 32-1140        
SHL 32-1158   Alley Travis alley.travis@gmail.com
SHL 32-1168   Winstead Shari shariwinstead@yahoo.com
SHL 32-1178   King Amber amberking907@gmail.com
SHL 32-1197   Owens Lawrence larryowens2@frontier.com
SHL 32-1209   Heller Dennis dennis@incontrolhvac.com
SHL 32-1210        
SHL 32-1228   Brennand Margaret megbrennand@gmail.com
SHL 32-1236        
SHL 32-2552 pending Kuyenda jacob jacob.m.kuyndall@gmail.com
Shl 32-2712        
SHL 32-2753   Rezayat Ashton ashtonrezayat@gmail.com
SHL 32-3363        
SHL 32-3556   O’Neill Aimee  aimeeo.1@live.com
SHL32-0396   McCullough Alice sabasmom13@hotmail.com
SUMMIT        
WOODWAY  01        
WOODWAY 02   Jay Cindi cindi.jay@gmail.com

 

 

RESOLUTION OF OPPOSITION TO THE DAKOTA ACCESS PIPELINE

How to support Standing Rock –

The link below contains a list of reliable, trustworthy sources you can donate to with confidence.:   Read more at http://indiancountrytodaymedianetwork.com/2016/11/23/how-give-and-give-thanks-standing-rock-166566

RESOLUTION OF OPPOSITION TO THE DAKOTA ACCESS PIPELINE

WHEREAS the Missouri River is the principal source of water for both the City of Bismarck, North Dakota, and the Standing Rock Sioux Reservation approximately 35 miles downriver from Bismarck; and 

 WHEREAS the Dakota Access Pipeline LLC has proposed to construct a 1,100 mile Pipeline (“DAPL”) with a capacity of 570,000 barrels of crude oil per day – which it originally planned to cross the Missouri River immediately upstream from Bismarck but, when faced by opposition from city residents concerned about pollution of their drinking water from possible oil spills during pipeline operation, revised its proposed routing in order to have the DAPL cross the Missouri downstream from Bismarck and immediately upstream from the Standing Rock Reservation; and

 WHEREAS the Standing Rock Reservation was established through the Fort Laramie Treaties of 1851 and 1868, between the United States and the Great Sioux Nation, as a perpetual homeland for the Standing Rock Sioux; and 

 WHEREAS treaties are, under the U.S. Constitution, part of “the supreme Law of the Land”; and 

WHEREAS the various Sioux tribes, as descendants of some of the first residents of North America, whose status and rights are protected by the Fort Laramie Treaties and other treaties, are every bit as entitled to safe drinking water as are Bismarck residents of European, African or Asian ancestry, and are further entitled to a continued supply of water suitable for sustenance of the fish and wildlife critical to their way of life; and 

 WHEREAS construction of the DAPL would also threaten the integrity of historic sites and archaeological/cultural resources deemed sacred by the Sioux, including burial grounds subject to the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (“NAGPRA”); and

 WHEREAS the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, which was endorsed by the United States in 2010, provides that each U.N. member state “shall consult and cooperate in good faith with the indigenous peoples concerned in order to obtain their free, prior and informed consent before adopting and implementing legislative or administrative measures that may affect them”; and 

WHEREAS the government agency responsible for issuing or denying the permits necessary for the DAPL, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, has failed to (a) engage in the consultation provided for in both the above U.N. Declaration and Executive Order 13175, (b) recognize its duty to assure compliance with the National Historic Preservation Act, and (c) issue a proper Environmental Impact Statement as required by the National Environmental Policy Act; and 

WHEREAS the DAPL, if and when completed, would facilitate further use of motor fuels and ensuing environmental degradation through carbon pollution and, ultimately, global warming;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that we strongly oppose the Dakota Access Pipeline and, in particular, call upon (1) the Corps of Engineers to immediately initiate serious and thorough consultations with the Standing Rock and other Sioux officials, accompanied  by issuance of a comprehensive Environmental Impact Statement on the entire DAPL project while assuring its compliance with §106 of the National Historic Preservation Act, §10 of the Rivers and Harbors Act, Executive Order 13175, and applicable provisions of the NAGPRA, and (2) our entire Congressional delegation to assure, by oversight hearings and other measures as necessary, full compliance with all of the foregoing requirements.

Adopted November 16, 2016 by the 32nd District (Washington) Democrats

web16-dapl-marching2-1030x400